Motor vehicle collisions cost this country billions in medical bills and lost income annually. According to the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, for example, traffic fatalities cost the United States $44 billion in such damages in 2013.
In Tennessee alone, medical costs for crash-related deaths amounted to $13 million that year, and work loss costs reached $1.24 billion. These figures do not include the damages incurred by those who survived motor vehicle collisions in 2013.
Even minor injuries can cost a family thousands in prescription copays, physical therapy bills, and missed work. Although car wreck victims can seek compensation for these damages from the parties liable for their injuries, the claims process is complicated.
If you want to sue a reckless or negligent motorist, it is wise to hire an experienced wreck attorney because even minor mistakes early on can have major repercussions down the road. To hire a seasoned lawyer who will protect your best interests during every stage of the proceedings, turn to the Law Office of George R. Fusner Jr.
Visit our website at gfusnerlaw.com to learn how we can help you avoid critical mistakes that could jeopardize your case. Call 615-251-0005 or 800-427-8960 to schedule a free consultation with a personal injury lawyer in Nashville.
Read on to learn about a few critical mistakes you should avoid during the claims process:
- Postponing Medical Treatment
As PennyGeeks explains, the most important step to take after any crash is to immediately seek medical care, and that’s true even if you feel relatively fine. Adrenaline can mask the symptoms of serious injuries, and some kinds of trauma do not manifest noticeable issues for hours or even days after the initial impact.
Not only will delaying medical treatment threaten your health, but it can also jeopardize your personal injury claim. For example, the opposing party can argue that you are at least partially responsible for the damages because postponing care contributed to the severity of your injuries.
- Waiting to File a Claim
Life is hectic, especially if you are recovering from severe injuries; however, it is wise to prioritize your case. You have one year to file a personal injury claim in the state of Tennessee, but you could lose access to essential evidence long before 12 months have passed
This is especially true for truck accident victims since motor carriers must maintain their drivers’ logs for just six months. That means if your case does not begin the discovery phase until after six months have passed, you may no longer be able to gather definitive proof of the trucker’s negligence.
- Maintaining an Active Social Media Presence
Even if you do not post about the lawsuit on your social media profiles, the opposing party could still use the information you do post against you. For example, if you post photographs of a concert, they can argue that you are exaggerating your immobility—even if you were actually enjoying the music from a handicapped seat. Stop posting immediately.
- Failing to Hire a Personal Injury Lawyer
In addition to handling all the legal aspects of your claim, an attorney can prevent you from making any of the above mistakes. Your lawyer will ultimately:
Send a spoliation letter to preserve evidence
- Gather medical records;
- Interview witnesses;
- Track damages; and
- Negotiate with the opposing party on your behalf.
If you were hurt in a car wreck that was not your fault, turn to the Law Office of George R. Fusner Jr. to determine if you have grounds for a claim. Contact us online or call 615-251-0005 or 800-427-8960 to schedule a free case evaluation with an crash attorney in Nashville. You can learn more about collision claims in Tennessee by visiting USAttorneys.com.