In a perfect world, every driver would abide by all local traffic laws, and external factors like weather, road conditions, and mechanical failures would never impede motor vehicles. Unfortunately, the world is far from perfect, and even the most experienced motorists can find themselves in a devastating collision.
For the average American who drives on a regular basis, the likelihood of getting into a car crash at some point is fairly high. According to Forbes, most people can expect to file a claim with their car insurance provider once every 17.9 years. Fortunately, the majority of these collisions are not fatal, and many of them only result in property damage as opposed to serious bodily injury.
Repairing the damage left by even a minor fender bender can be costly, though, and many people do not have enough liquid cash to cover the expenses that can result from a catastrophic collision. For this reason, most states have minimum coverage requirements when it comes to auto insurance.
In tort states like Tennessee, purchasing adequate coverage does not only protect your own financial security in the event of a crash, but it also ensures motorists around you will have access to compensation should you end up causing a wreck. If you were hurt in a collision that was not your fault, on the other hand, and you want to file a third-party claim with the liable driver’s insurance provider, turn to the Law Office of George R. Fusner Jr. for counsel during every stage of the proceedings.
Having practiced law for over 40 years, George R. Fusner Jr. has the experience, resolve, and resources to face even the largest insurance providers on behalf of his clients. Call 615-251-0005 or 800-427-8960 to schedule a free case evaluation with an accident attorney in Nashville.
What Are the Minimum Car Insurance Coverage Requirements in Tennessee?
Because Tennessee is a “fault” state, motorists have a legal obligation to carry a certain amount of liability insurance. The minimum coverage requirements are:
- $25,000 per person for bodily injury;
- $50,000 per accident for bodily injury; and
- $15,000 per accident for property damage.
Unfortunately, just because these coverage requirements exist does not mean everyone who drives in the state abides by them. For this reason, auto insurance providers must also offer policyholders at least $25,000/$50,000 per person/accident for bodily injury following a collision with an uninsured motorist and at least $15,000 per accident for property damage caused by an uninsured motorist (UM). Although it is wise to purchase UM coverage, there is no legal obligation to do so, and you can reject this coverage by submitting a written waiver. This is insurance to protect YOU when the other party has NO insurance. It is very inexpensive and an absolute necessity. Further, you should also purchase medical payments or “med pay” insurance. This pays medical bills regardless of fault. Again it is very inexpensive. Buy enough to at least cover the deductible on your health insurance policy.
Liability insurance is designed to compensate accident victims for the damages they incur in a collision, but it is common for hurdles to arise throughout the claims process. If you were in a crash with a drunk, distracted, or drowsy driver and the insurance adjuster is refusing to work with you—or the liable party does not have enough insurance to cover the damages—turn to the Law Office of George R. Fusner Jr.
No matter where you were injured in Tennessee, George Fusner can evaluate the circumstances of the incident to determine if you have grounds for a claim. Call 615-251-0005 or 800-427-8960 to schedule a free consultation with an wreck lawyer in Nashville. If you want to learn more about car collision claims in Tennessee, visit USAttorneys.com.